Wild Nothing - A Woman's Wisdom - Press Release / by E

Next week Wild Nothing, a.k.a the now LA-based musician Jake Tatum, will release Life of Pause, his third studio album and much anticipated follow up to 2012’s Nocturne, via Captured Tracks  / Remote Control Records. In the lead up to the release, Tatum has premiered new single "A Woman's Wisdom".

Over the past few months, in an effort to gradually encapsulate listeners in the album’s depth’s and complexities, Tatum has shared a series of singles; breezy and dreamy "TV Queen", jagged, bass-heavy "To Know You", and "Reichpop".

When Jack Tatum began work on Life of Pause he had fascinating ambitions. “I desperately wanted for this to be the kind of record that would displace me,” he says. “I’m terrified by the idea of being any one thing, or being of any one genre. And whether or not I accomplish that, I know that my only hope of getting there is to constantly reinvent. That reinvention doesn't need to be drastic, but every new record has to have it's own identity, and it has to have a separate set of goals from what came before.”

In California, at Monahan’s home, Tatum collaborated with Medicine guitarist Brad Laner and a crew of saxophonists. From the hypnotic polyrhythms of "Reichpop" to the sugary howl of "Japanese Alice" to the hallucinogenic R&B of "A Woman’s Wisdom", the result is a complete, fully immersive listening environment.

Life of Pause is an exquisitely arranged and beautifully recorded collection of songs that marry the immediate with the indefinable. “I allowed myself to go down every route I could imagine even if it ended up not working for me,” he says. “I owe it to myself to take as many risks as possible. Songs are songs and you have to allow yourself to be open to everything... At the end of the day it still sounds like me, just new.”

Wild Nothing's Life of Pause will be released on Friday 19th February 2016 via Captured Tracks / Remote Control

Wild Nothing - Life Of Pause
1. Reichpop
2. Lady Blue
3. A Woman’s Wisdom
4. Japanese Alice
5. Life of Pause
6. Alien
 7. To Know You
8. Adore
9. Tv Queen
10. Whenever I
11. Love Underneath My Thumb


Website             Facebook             Twitter